Regulatory Bodies - IHDFS

Regulatory Bodies

Navi Mumbai has been developed as a planned city, a counter magnet for Mumbai. It has been developed as an independent, fully self-contained metro city. Navi Mumbai is the world’s large, totally planned, well-balanced, modern city and has been planned to meet the infrastructural needs of a modern metropolis.

MMRDA (Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority) 

The Mumbai Metropolitan Region (MMR) spread over 4,355 sq. km. consists of 8 Municipal Corporations viz. Greater Mumbai, Thane, Kalyan-Dombivali, Navi Mumbai, Ulhasnagar, Bhiwandi- Nizamapur, Vasai-Virar and Mira-Bhayandar; and 9 Municipal Councils viz. Ambarnath, Kulgaon-Badalapur, Matheran, Karjat, Panvel, Khopoli, Pen, Uran, and Alibaug, along with more than 1,000 villages in Thane and Raigad Districts.

MMRDA is responsible for the balanced development of the MMR which also includes Navi Mumbai. MMRDA is engaged in long term planning, promotion of new growth centers, implementation of strategic projects and financing infrastructure development. The MMRDA prepares plans, formulates policies and programs, implements projects and helps in directing investments in the Region …. Click for more



CIDCO (City and Industrial Development Corporation of Maharashtra Ltd.)

CIDCO (City and Industrial Development Corporation) – is India’s premier town planning agency entrusted for planned development and has created Navi Mumbai – Largest Planned City in the World. CIDCO prepared developmental plan for Navi Mumbai covering 95 villages from Thane and Raigad district covering total area of 343.70 sq km……Click for more


NMMC (Navi Mumbai Municipal Corporation)

NMMC was formed vide Government order dated December 17, 1991 and came in to existence on January 1, 1992, for catering to the requirements of 29 villages in CIDCO project and 14 villages from Kalyan notified area.

In the CIDCO area there are seven nodes viz. CBD Belapur, Vashi, Nerul, Koparkhairane, Ghansoli, Sanpada and Airoli. Except for Ghansoli node, other six nodes are fully developed and hence, all powers under the Maharashtra Regional and Town Planning Act 1966 have been transferred to NMMC while 14 villages from Kalyan notified are deleted from NMMC jurisdiction vide Government order NMC 102000/LNO 54/04/NV 28 dated June 8, 2007.

Total area under NMMC is 162.5 sq km Click for more



NAINA (Navi Mumbai Airport Influence Notified Area)

The Maharashtra state government appointed CIDCO (City and Industrial Development Corporation) as the special planning authority (SPA) for around 10 to 25 km peripheral area of the proposed Navi Mumbai International Airport at Panvel.

This means that for any development or construction in the notified area, one has to take CIDCO’s permission.

The new territory of CIDCO has been declared as Navi Mumbai Airport Influence Notified Area (NAINA). The development has stretched CIDCO’s Navi Mumbai territory up to Karjat, Khopoli, Khalapur, Khopta, Nitalas and Pen which include over 270 villages and an area of over 600 square km. ……….Click for more 



WP-Backgrounds Lite by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann 1010 Wien